Western Kurdistan Government WKA, Palingswick House, 241 King Street, London W6 9LP, UK

Tel: 0208 748 7874, Fax: 0208 741 6436, Mobile: 07768 266005 www.rojavatv.com e-mails: wka@knc.org.uk KNC@ribrahim.de



Announcement by the Western Kurdistan Government regarding the Brussels congress

The first congress of the Kurdish people in Western Kurdistan was held in the building of the American Congress in Washington on 12/3/2006 in which it was suggested to hold a second congress inside the European Parliament in Brussels in Belgium and it was held on 27-29 May 2006 with 150 personalities and representatives attending to announce the formation of a Kurdistan Council that was declared after studying and discussing the charter and the internal guidelines, which were approved by democratic voting.

The participants of the congress elected a Kurdistan Council of 37 members with some places left empty for the Kurdish parties that did not attend. The Council elected an executive committee of 9 members by direct elections then a leadership committee of 3 was elected who are: Dr Jawad Mella the President of the Western Kurdistan Government, Dr Tawfiq Hamdush the leader of the Kurdistan Democratic Party - Syria and Dr Sherko Abbas the president of the Kurdish Association in America.

Dr Ismet Sharif Wanly was elected as an honorary president together with five honorary members who are Asaad Xelani, Fawzi Atroushi, Salam Jaziri, Mousa Kaval, Ali Haj Hussein.

Several other well-known Kurdish personalities from other parts of Kurdistan and European countries participated such as: Abdulmalik Furat the grandson of Sheik Saeed Piran, Sharafaddin Alchi the former minister, Ali Gazi the son of Qazi Muhammad the President of the Kurdistan Republic, Haseeb Qablan the Lawyer, Dr Asaad Xelani the former president of the Kurdish National Congress in North America, Bairam Ayaz the leading member of the Kurdistan Democratic Party - Turkey, Salam Jaziri from the Kurdish Federation of Sweden, Dr Ismet Sharif Wanly, Fawzi Atroushi the representative of the Kurdistan Democratic Party - Iraq, Feleknas Uca the member of the European Parliament, Harriet Montgomery researcher on the Syrian Kurds causes and others...

The institutions and organisations from Western Kurdistan that participated in the congress: Western Kurdistan Government under the leadership of Dr Jawad Mella, the representative of the Kurdish Future Current, Dr Haibat Abu Halabja, Kurdish Freedom Party, the Kurdish Progressive Democratic Party under the leadership of Mr Aziz Dawoud, Kurdistan Democratic Changes Movement, Democratic Union Party, Kurdistan Truth Party under the leadership of Mr Nouri Brimo, Kurdistan Democratic Party - Syria, Kurdish Yeketi Party, the Civilization and Democracy Party under the leadership of Mr Hasso Americo, the Democratic Ezidi Party under the leadership of Mr Karim Ajam, the Solidarity Council -Syrian Kurdistan, the Kurdish Association in America, the Ezidi Association of Tirpasipie, the Syrian Kurds Associations in Berlin, UK, Italy and others.

The congress was covered by the media through the Kurdistan Rojava Radio, Kurdistan TV and several Internet sites.

The congress was opened by a minute silence for the martyrs of the 2004 glorious uprising and martyrs of Kurdistan under the flag of Kurdistan and it ended its works in the European Parliament with the Kurdish national anthem Ay Raqib.

5th June 2006